ANZAC pride will be on the line for New Zealand and Australia at the 25th International Island Classic at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit on the Australia Day long weekend (January 26-28) as they battle it out in the FIM Oceania Historic Road Race Cup.

2017 Island Classic - International Challenge

Island Classic – Phillip Island

The Cup is a standalone competition with all team points accumulated by Australia and New Zealand in the four-race International Challenge – which also involves the UK and America – counting towards the Oceania scorecard.

In the 2017 Oceania Historic Road Race Cup, Australia walloped New Zealand by 640 points to 323.

In 2018, the Australian Oceania team will welcome the exquisite Phillip Island skills of Troy Corser for the first time, and he’ll be joined by Steve Martin, Shawn Giles, Cameron Donald, David Johnson, Beau Beaton, Paul Byrne, Scott Webster and Ken Watson.

The New Zealand team is Damien Kavney making his 13th appearance at the Island Classic, Glenn Hindle, Simon Richards, Duncan Coutts, Trevor Taylor, Kerry Wilton, Alistair Wilton and Mat Ineson.

The FIM Oceania Historic Road Race Cup is organized by FIM Oceania, whose role is to represent the International Motorcycling Federation (FIM) in the region and showcase great racing. Motorcycling Australia’s Peter Doyle is Vice President of FIM Oceania and launched the Cup.

“The International Island Classic is a standout event of the Australian motorcycle racing calendar and is sure to have big fields and great crowds. We at FIM Oceania are thrilled to conduct the FIM Oceania Historic Road Race Cup at the meet,” said Doyle. “Last year’s inaugural event was a great success seeing the classic Aussie vs. Kiwi battle on one of the world’s best race tracks. I’m sure this year the action will be even better as Team Australia defends their title.”

Fergus Cameron, managing director of the Phillip Island circuit was equally enthusiastic. “The Cup is a fabulous addition to the International Island Classic and really compliments the international flavour of this event and of course amplifies the rivalry between the Aussies and the Kiwis,” said Cameron.

Another highlight of the Island Classic historic festival will be the appearance of 15-time world GP champion Giacomo Agostini alongside a quartet of title-winning MV Agustas.

Tickets for the 25th International Island Classic are now on sale at

2017 Island Classic Award Ceremony - Team Australia

The 2017 Team Australia at last year’s event

Australia Captain: Rex Wolfenden

  • 11 Troy Corser Honda Harris F1 1982 1150
  • 99 Steve Martin Suzuki Katana 1294 1982 1294
  • 19 Shawn Giles Suzuki Katana 1294 1982 1294
  • 186 Beau Beaton Irving Vincent 1982 1300
  • 86 Cam Donald Irving Vincent 1982 1300
  • 52 Paul Byrne McIntosh Suzuki 1982 1260
  • 3 David Johnson Suzuki XR69 1982 1100
  • 76 Scott Webster Suzuki Harris 1980 1200
  • 39 Ken Watson Yamaha TZ31 1978 750

New Zealand Captain: Duncan Coutts

  • 50 Glen Hindle Suzuki XR69 1982 1170
  • 10 Damien Kavney Suzuki XR69 1982 1260
  • 55 Trevor Taylor Yamaha TZ500H 1981 498
  • 211 Simon Richards Suzuki CMR XR69 1982 1170
  • 31 Kerry Wilton Yamaha TZ350F 1979 410
  • 335 Duncan Coutts Yamaha CMR F1 1984 1251
  • 27 Mat Ineson Suzuki GSX 1982 1135
  • 25 Alistair Wilton Yamaha TZ750 1979 746
Share this:Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter