VNE Snipers’ Romano Fenati took pole position for the first time in nearly two years after taking to the top in Q2 at the myWorld Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich, the Italian progressing through from Q1 before pouncing late for P1. Ayumu Sasaki (Petronas Sprinta Racing) was second quickest, with Jaume Masia (Bester Capital Dubai) third and the fastest KTM on the Austrian factory’s home turf. Pics: 2Snap.

Kaito Toba (Honda Team Asia) was the man on top as the flag flew to signal the end of the session, but from then on a flurry of riders crossed the line at the end of their final flying laps and the pack shuffled. Petronas Sprinta Racing’s John McPhee went it alone and crossed the line first, taking provisional pole position, but the Scotsman would slip down the order when the pack fired through. However, a host of penalties will shuffle starting positions, and it’s McPhee who will start from pole.


Niccolo Antonelli (SIC58 Squadra Corse), Tony Arbolino (VNE Snipers), Aron Canet (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team), Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Leopard Racing), Fenati, Raul Fernandez (Sama Qatar Angel Nieto Team), Jakub Kornfeil (Redox PruestelGP), Masia, Ai Ogura (Honda Team Asia), Marcos Ramirez (Leopard Racing), Sasaki, Toba and Makar Yurchenko (BOE Skull Rider Mugen Race) have all had their fastest laps in Q2 cancelled. Riccardo Rossi (Kömmerling Gresini Moto3) and Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) have 12-position grid penalties, in addition to the 12-place penalties given to Sasaki and Ogura after Friday’s action. Darryn Binder (CIP – Green Power) also received a penalty then, that of starting from the back of the grid.

After lap cancellations and penalties, McPhee heads Fenati and Toba, with Arbolino, Celestino Vietti (Sky Racing Team VR46) and Masia on Row 2. Ramirez starts ahead of Dalla Porta as the two Leopard teammates took P7 and P8 respectively, joined on the third row by rookie Raul Fernandez.

Kornfeil is tenth ahead of Yurchenko and Antonelli, with Canet just behind his key rival in P13. Suzuki and Stefano Nepa (Reale Avintia Arizona 77) complete Row 5 alongside the Championship leader.

NG Brakes

Sasaki starts P20, Ogura P22, Rossi P28, Migno P29 and Binder P30. Alonso Lopez will start from pitlane due to his penalty from the Czech GP.

Moto3 Results:

1. Romano Fenati (VNE Snipers) – 1:36.460
2. Ayumu Sasaki (Petronas Sprinta Racing) + 0.051 *
3. Jaume Masia (Bester Capital Dubai) + 0.229
4. John McPhee (Petronas Sprinta Racing) + 0.230
5. Ai Ogura (Honda Team Asia) + 0.245 *
6. Kaito Toba (Honda Team Asia) + 0.302
7. Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) + 0.328
8. Tony Arbolino (VNE Snipers) + 0.331
9. Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Leopard Racing) + 0.430
10. Raul Fernandez (Sama Qatar Angel Nieto Team) + 0.513
* 12-place grid penalty

Cassons Concept X

Share this:Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter